Ouchies: Wander

What’s it about:

This is a song about being attracted to darkness. There’s just something about the dark that’s interesting. The problem for me is that I am not dark. I mentioned in a past post about being a Connoisseur of Dark Things, but at a healthy distance. I hope that doesn’t taint your view of the music I am making. I mean, OK, It’s not “Bongripper” that makes me think something is wrong when I am listening to it, but I think I did a pretty good job of capturing the impression.

But this song goes further. It insinuates that there is a Truth, and a Light. I mean Jesus.

I wanted to make sure you know that there is Dark and Light, and the Dark leads to Dark and the Light leads to Light. That sounds all, “Captain Obvious”, but think about it.

We shouldn’t run from the Light. I think Trouble said it best:

why do you love the darkness
how can you see where you are going

That’s from their 1987 album called, “Run To The Light”. I remember when that album came out. I was blown away.

I always felt like there were “answers” in the Darkness, but mostly what I found was more Darkness. I have always been one to be mesmerized by death and “the end”, but the darkness led me not to illumination, but to darker things, deeper dark, deranged thoughts, self destruction and relational awkwardness. Oh and pot.

Pot didn’t help much either. It would always take me to a “Depth Scraping”, self degredating place.

I’m away from that now and it’s been long enough that I can see the destructive effects. I still have to be careful about delving in the darkness. But I believe I can study it without being consumed.

Hope you can too!

Lyrics:

It’s dark out here
But we like it don’t we
Anticipating underground
Where the light can’t see

Try to find illumination
Hiding from the light
Mystery just out of reach
Out of mind, out of sight

Truth be told
The light is blinding
Which the sea of delusion
Will keep you from finding

It’s dark out here
But we like it don’t we
Anticipating underground
Where the light can’t see

Go listen here

Leave a comment