Ouchies: Dead Day

What’s it about?

A Doom Metal Love song? OK. Sure. I love my wife. This song is about forgiveness too. Not remembering past wrongs. Remembering that the person you love is precious. The fact that it’s very easy to slip into holding grudges and exacting vengeance is (I think) proof that love is important. We can love, or we can hurt. There was another lyric that said, “I died yesterday”, but it didn’t really fit with the pattern of the song not being a pity party and being a true love song. Sure, there’s a sort of “threat” on the third verse, but it’s just an acknowledgement of the possibility of what could be done.

But love is better. Love and forgiveness.

Lyrics:

This morning
Woke up so in love with you
I’m up for anything
Whatever you want to do

This morning
My heart was beating for you
You’re my everything
Us is all I want to do

I could remember
I could drag you through the mud
Pack salt in this wound
I could shed your blood

I could remember
But yesterday’s dead

I forget
Cuz yesterday’s dead

Go listen here

Leave a comment